top of page
Minimalist Church


Graphic Stripes

“I will give you many descendants, and they will become a great nation. I will bless you and make your name famous, so that you will be a blessing”. (Gen.12:2)

The first CMC house in the soil of Karnataka was planted in 1967 at Narasimharajapura in Chickamangalore district. The enthusiastic and zealous sisters of  CMC Malabar  Provinces inspired by the Charism of  started serving the people of God who migrated to Karnataka region. It was a heart desire of the people who migrated here to continue their faith and live as a Syro Malabar Member. Under the able Patronage and careful guidance of the Bishop Mar Sebastian Valloppilly, CMC rooted firmly and sprouted out its branches in this unique state. The CMC Convents in Karnataka were belonging to two Provinces – St. Joseph’s Province, Thalassery and Sacred Heart Province, Mananthavady.

The visionary Bishops of Belthangady, Bhadravathi and Mandya assumed that in order to flourish Syro Malabar Church in Karnataka, it is an urgent need to form CMC Convents under a separate Province to empower the sisters who knows Kannada language and also to ensure the continuous service of the sisters who are serving this region. The unanimous applications sent by the Provincial Councils of Thalassery and Mananthavady Provinces as well as the request of the Syro Malabar Bishops of Karnataka Church became a landmark in the history of CMC Karnataka, when it discussed favourably in the General Council and in the 7th Renewal General Synaxis. Finally, the second session of the 14th General Plenary conducted from 6th to 8th January 2015(Decision No. 04), paved the way of the formation of the 21st Province of CMC in the celebration of Sesquicentennial Jubilee of its unification.  

Bible Lessons

The very bright sunrise of 22nd April 2015, the feast day of Fr. Leopold, witnessed the fulfillment of the dream when the declaration of St. Euphrasia Province, Karnataka was made by Mother Sancta at Kushalnagar. Sr. Joice Maria was nominated by the General Council as the Provincial Superior of the budding CMC in Karnataka. St. Euphrasia Province is blessed with 13 convents and 72 passionate missionaries serving in different parts of America, Germany, Kerala and Karnataka. The first Provincial Synaxis of St. Euphrasia Province recollected the able guidance of the nominated team and elected Sr. Joice Maria as the First Provincial Superior of this Province. We treasure gratefully the indefinable services rendered by the General Council (Mother Sancta, Mother Sibi and Team) the Provincial Superiors and Sisters of Thalassery (Mother Dhanya and Team) and Mananthavady (Mother Jeesa and Team) Provinces and the beneficiaries in the formation of St. Euphrasia Province.

We, the CMC Sisters of this Province, are proud to live our motto ‘Remain united to me in contemplation and consecrated to me in action’ and ‘to be holy and lead others to holiness’ in this area with the intercession of our founder St. Chavara and Patron saint St. Euphrasia. After their inspiration and model, St. Euphrasia Province in its infancy, striving to reach out its hands and helps to trust in God’s providence and walking in the foot prints of Jesus and Mother Mary.

bottom of page